Surviving and Thriving During My NaNoWriMo 2022 Journey

Participating in NaNoWriMo for 2022.

Bill Holmes
4 min readDec 2, 2022
Photo courtesy of the author.

I declared almost eleven months ago I was done with national writing month events.

I wrote a Medium story about my decision on January 13th, 2022 called “No More National Writing Month Events for Me.” My concern when participating in events like National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) or National Journal Writing Month (NaJoWriMo) was that my enthusiasm for writing started waning as I wrote more for quantity versus quality.

Laura Jevtich commented in my original story: “Never say never, you might not know how you feel six months from now.”

A whole lot occurred between January 13th, 2022 and October 31st, 2022. One thing that happened for me was engaging in writing. A lot of writing from creating several articles for Medium and freelance publication; attending random Sunrise Scribe morning writing sessions on Tuesdays and Fridays, hosted by my sistafriend Fisiwe Zwana; to completing Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way twelve-week challenge to write three pages longhand; to attending a science fiction and fantasy writing workshop this summer, which resulted in creating my first short story in that genre.

By the time fall arrived in September, my creativity was at an all-time high. My writing…

--

--

Bill Holmes

Writer. Poet. ESSENCE Best Selling Author. Filmmaker. Personal development aficiando who lives and breathes the mantra "I will not be denied!"