Journaling Prompt — Kwanzaa Reflections

Self-reflection during the Kwanzaa celebration.

Bill Holmes
2 min readDec 30, 2021
Photo courtesy of Askar Abayev via Pexels.

In acknowledgment and celebration of Kwanzaa, answer the following questions regarding the principle of Kujichaguila:

· Who am I?

· Am I really who I am?

· Am I all that I ought to be?

Who am I?

I am the sum of my experiences, both the good and the bad. I am the knowledge acquired, skills developed, and thoughts generated inside this human vessel of flesh and bones for 51 years and nine months plus of my existence. I am my ancestors’ wildest dreams and the beneficiary of their sacrifices they made for a better life conceived from their aspirations. I am the reflection of the Creator’s love with the responsibility to mirror that image through my contributions, actions, and efforts. I am the writer who has employed his gifts to honor and empower self by positively impacting the lives of others through the sharing of my words.

Am I really who I am?

Sometimes I believe I really am the person I believe to be, and sometimes I don’t. The latter occurs when I allow doubt, fear, shame, guilt, etc., to appear inside my thoughts that affect my mood. This also happens whenever I think about disturbing memories when 1) I allowed…

--

--

Bill Holmes

Writer. Poet. ESSENCE Best Selling Author. Filmmaker. Personal development aficiando who lives and breathes the mantra "I will not be denied!"