A Letter from Future Me

Writing a letter to my present self.

Bill Holmes
3 min readNov 1, 2023
Photo by Scott Graham on Unsplash

This story was inspired by the following writing prompt distributed to the participants of the Sunrise Scribe weekly writing group I belong to hosted by my soul sista Fisiwe Zwana held every Tuesday and Friday mornings at 7:15 am EST:

A letter to me from the future me.

1 November 2023

Dear Bill:

Whenever I write and send you a letter, I’m always attempting to encourage you when I see you struggling or experiencing a challenging situation. It wasn’t too long ago I sent you a tough love letter to do something about having self-doubt. Sometimes you needed to read and absorb my words rather than me giving you a swift kick in the ass or pop you outside your head. You know I’m just kidding because I’ve got nothing but love for you, man.

Anyhoo, that’s not why I’m writing this letter. No, this message is something I should’ve said a long time ago. As I’m sitting here putting pen to paper, it’s difficult for me to compose and articulate my thoughts without getting emotional. I needed to inhale, hold, and exhale a few deep breaths just to write the first paragraph.

I hope you don’t think this is corny but I just wanted to take a moment to say thank you. Yes, Bill, I’m thanking you for being the

--

--

Bill Holmes

Writer. Poet. ESSENCE Best Selling Author. Filmmaker. Personal development aficiando who lives and breathes the mantra "I will not be denied!"